Audio Story

I did my story on “Shamrock Shootout,” a philanthropy event organized by the Kappa Delta sorority this past weekend.  Teams pay to participate in a basketball tournament and all the money goes toward the Children’s Trust Fund.  This year’s event raised over $5,000.

I had initially done a story on what it’s like to actually live on a boat in Seattle.  The engine drowned out the entire piece and I decided to scrap it.  Combined with the problems and frustrations of the first audio assignment I vowed to keep round two fairly basic.   My goals were simple –  conduct basic interviews on the topic, record quality ambient sound that contributes to the story and efficiently edit and convert between file types.

While it’s not an amazing story by any means, I am still pleased with how it turned out.  I feel like I can perform any of the simple edits necessary to constuct an audio piece.   On another note, I was reminded of the importance of using headphones to verify audio levels.  While it seems rude to have headphones while interviewing someone, it’s much easier than asking them for a 2nd interview.  Also, I am fully aware that I don’t have a future in radio and the voiceovers need work.  If I were to do it again I might ask someone else to do them or at least rehearse a little more.  Another idea for the future would also be to capture more content.  Interview extra sources.  It may or may not be useful but it’s better be able to make that decision in the editing room.

Leave a Reply

