Video Project

I had very high expectations leading into my video project.  I’ve produced quite a few over the years and really wanted to combine my new knowledge of composition and the value of natural sound with my editing experience.  I was planning to shoot a ton of footage of  a camping/climbing trip throughout the entire weekend.  However, technological problems quickly forced me to improvise.  While filming on the car ride on day one, I discovered that the flip camera was almost out of battery power.  Before leaving I was sure to insert the device into a USB drive to charge it (or so I thought).  With the video camera dead I turned to the still camera that I had brought along, which promptly ran low on battery power as well.  I ended up having to improvise a new plan utilizing the little power remaining in both devices and recording audio interviews back home. Rather than an epic documentary of the weekend, I had to focus on one climber’s “project” that had been denying him for years.  I wasn’t able to shoot much of a variety of photos because there was so little power remaining.

Needless to say, it was very frustrating not being able to shoot a fraction of the video or photos that I had intended.  Although I didn’t do the project as planned, I think I did a great job of improvising in the field.   I was very careful to charge and experiment with both the video and still cameras before taking them out of the lab and yet I still had problems.  After returning from the trip, I discovered that the flip cameras aren’t charged by an internal battery but two AA’s. In the future, I would try to use my own equipment.  I’ve had difficulties using borrowed items and I realize how much smoother everything would be if I had a personal camera with which I was familiar.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Remember to embed the youtube clip in this post!

    Reply

  2. […] Scott (not embedded; linked here) Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)I’m sorrySloppy Journalism – Part 2 no comments yet « Jeff’s Story: Student-Created Program Helps Ease Registration Pain […]

    Reply

  3. Scott this is a nice “save” — you have some nicely framed shots! and you’re right, it’s difficult using borrowed equipment. Maybe next week I can put together a handout on the Filp and the Olympus (voice) and explicitly direct folks to use that equipment!

    What you might do to enhance this: show us a map – where are we going (start point seattle?) why are we going to BC?

    Reply

  4. That is great considering all the trouble you had. I really like the natural sounds you brought in. Although you couldn’t have a video of the guy falling, the sound layed over the image made me cringe. I think that might have even been better than having it visually (distracts from the suddenness and heavy “thump”).
    Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

